News & Info



Posted October 2, 2014


Wood duck box applications available until Nov. 1st     

The S.C. Department of Natural Resources, in partnership with the South Carolina State Chapter of Ducks Unlimited and the South Carolina Department of Corrections, will continue the construction and distribution of wood duck boxes this winter. Applications are available online and will be accepted until Nov. 1, 2014. Approximately 1,000 boxes will be available for distribution. Ducks Unlimited has contributed approximately 50% of the cost for construction and distribution and The Wateree Correctional Institute will assemble the predator shields and construct the boxes. Each unit will consist of a treated pole, a predator shield and assembled box.

The wood duck is the most important waterfowl species in South Carolina and is the only duck that breeding habitat can be managed effectively through
out all geographic regions of the state. The Project supplements natural production in tree cavities of forested wetlands by providing artificial nesting sites. Fewer natural cavities are available today because of the impacts of human activity upon bottomland hardwoods.

Private land owners wishing to obtain wood duck boxes can
download an application. For additional information contact the Statewide Wood Duck Box Project at (843) 844-8957. Up to 5 boxes per applicant (or property) will be available for distribution throughout the State. The application deadline is Nov. 1, 2014.

The statewide project for construction and distribution of nest box units to requesting landowners began in 1982. Since 1982, over 33,000 nest box units have been issued to over 4,500 co-operators. The project provides nest boxes, poles and predator guards to landowners having suitable wood duck production and brood-rearing habitat.


Posted September 23, 2014 


Please join the South Carolina Forestry Commission and The Conservation Fund for a free workshop to learn more about ways to identify and maximize economic and recreational impact of local agency working lands.

What: Workshops will provide an overview on forest management, working with consulting foresters, funding and other resources, and a site visit to forest management in action. Sign up now! The workshop is free and lunch is provided, but space is limited.

Who Should Attend? Elected officials, local government staff, parks/recreation and public works leaders, school officials, maintenance professionals, and others with responsibility for forested lands owned by local governments.

Where and When: Workshops will be held across the state – October 1 in Florence, October 2 in Awendaw, October 8 in Columbia and October 9 in Greenwood. Additional information and links to register are below:

Additional information and links to register are below:

October 1, 10:00-3:30: Pee Dee Research and Education Center, Florence SC 29506


October 2, 10:00-3:30: Sewee Visitor & Environmental Education Center, Awendaw, SC 29429


October 8, 10:00-3:30: The River Center at Saluda Shoals Park , Columbia SC 29210

October 9 10:00-3:30: Piedmont Technical College, Building B, Greenwood SC 29646


Posted October 31, 2012


Soil Health Lessons in a Minute

There are two new video demonstrations featuring NRCS’ Ray “The Soil Guy” Archuleta and Jon Stika (NRCS North Dakota). These videos, titled "Have you discovered the cove?" and "How should healthy soils look?" are part of NRCS’ recently launched Soil Health Awareness and Education effort.

Soil Health Lesson in a Minute: Discover the Cover 



 Soil Health Lesson in a Minute: How Healthy Soil Should Look




Posted June 25, 2012

Feral Hogs and Agricultural Crops


Figure 1. Farmer in a millet field where feral hogs have caused problems. Photo courtesy of Jack Mayer.

Agricultural Crop Depredation

Feral hogs can cause very costly damage to almost any commercial crop. In the United States, this damage equates to millions of dollars in losses annually. Most damage is from feeding, chewing, trampling, or rooting by foraging hogs (Fig. 1). Some studies indicate the majority of damage in agriculture fields is from trampling, with only 5-10% due to actual consumption. Rooting around the base or root mat of trees or shrubs (e.g., apple trees) can undermine root systems and weaken trees.

Feral hogs will travel great distances to reach crops that have ripened or matured. They will feed on most life stages of an agricultural cropfrom seeds through mature plants. Feral hogs are known to root straight down a row of newly-planted corn field and consume the seeds, but most reported damage occurs when the crops are nearly mature. They will also feed on grains stored in wire-mesh silos or bins if hog-proof fencing was not erected.


Article courtesy of




Posted April 16, 2012


Posted April 10, 2012

DNR Works in Partnership with PalmettoPride Anti-Littering Campaign



It doesn’t matter what you call it, trash, litter, debris, or junk – it’s dangerous to our safety, our wildlife, and our economy. That's why the S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) proudly works with PalmettoPride anti-littering initiatives around the state.

PalmettoPride is a legislative initiative founded by Sen. David Thomas to fight litter and help beautify South Carolina. DNR appreciates the foresight and vision of Sen. Thomas in creating PalmettoPride in response to citizens’ concerns regarding the amount of litter in South Carolina. PalmettoPride has been on the front lines in the fight against litter for over 10 years.

One of the most effective tools to combat litter is the Litter Buster's Hotline. DNR received over 5000 phone calls in the first year of the program (2006) with many thousands reported since: 2007- 4819; 2008 – 5073; 2009 – 2992; 2010 – 3294; 2011 – 3173 and even 130 calls this January. Call 1-877-7-Litter the next time you see someone unlawfully discarding trash, litter or debris. The Litter Buster's Hotline rings directly into the DNR statewide radio dispatch headquarters in Columbia.

In addition to other initiatives aimed at littering, PalmettoPride also awards a series of grants to law enforcement around South Carolina. DNR Law Enforcement has benefited from these grants (nearly $10,000 for 2012) with night vision cameras and other equipment to assist in making littering cases.

The PalmettoPride non-profit 501(c) 3 organization is a true public/private partnership comprised of state agencies, concerned citizens, corporate sponsors, and community and civic organizations with the stated goal of encouraging “behavioral change” in our citizens about litter. Surveys suggest that over 80% of people who litter do so intentionally. Changing this intentional behavior isn’t going to happen overnight.

Make a Free Website with Yola.